We hold flash fiction and flash nonfiction competitions annually. The entry fee is $5 for a flash prose under 1,000 words. We strongly believe in removing barriers to submission. If you are a low-income writer and the $5 fee poses any hardship, we warmly encourage you to submit to our free categories, no questions asked. The fee-free entries are capped at 100 pieces per category. If you are comfortably able to afford the fee, please leave the free submission slots for those who are not. Thank you for your generosity and consideration.

In 2023, the first-place winners will be awarded $1,000.00 (writers who reside outside the United States must be able to receive payment via PayPal) and publication. Additional prizes might be offered at our discretion. Submissions open September 1st each year with the submission window closing on September 14th or when we receive 800 entries total, so hurry! Please read the full guidelines below carefully and submit your brilliant flash prose.

  • Send one piece up to 1,000 words (title excluded).
  • Only one piece per writer per category (writers can submit one piece each to our fiction and nonfiction categories).
  • All entries will be read anonymously. Author identity should NOT appear on the manuscript itself or in the file name. If you accidentally send us files with author info to our $5 category, please contact us via Submittable message so that we can allow you to edit files. Entry fees are non-refundable.
  • All work must be previously unpublished.
  • Simultaneous submissions are encouraged. Please withdraw upon acceptance elsewhere.
  • All contest submissions will be considered for regular inclusion in The Forge Literary Magazine if you so choose.
  • Current members of the Fiction Forge or close friends, family members, or associates of the editors of the Forge Literary Magazine are not eligible for this competition.

The editors of the Forge Literary Magazine will judge. Winners will be announced in mid-October. Prize payment will be made no later than December 31st of each year.

To submit go to our Submittable portal.

If you have any questions, please enquire here.

We look forward to reading your submissions!

The Editors @ FLM

Past Winners